Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Welcome to the African School of Physics Blog!

The African School of Physics is excited to welcome you to our blog. We hope to be able to share many amazing moments in physics education through the voices of our students and lecturers during our third edition hosted at the Université Cheikh Anta Diop in Dakar, Senegal from August 3-23, 2014.

The African School of Physics began in 2010 with our first school in Stellenbosch, South Africa. The founding members; Bobby Acharya, Kétévi Assamagan, Christine Darve, John Ellis, and Steve Muanza; saw an opportunity to inspire African scientists to careers in nuclear and particle physics through an intensive, three week physics school focused on theory, experiment, and applications hosted every two years in a new country in Sub-Saharan Africa.

We hope to inspire you to join us through this blog! Our students come from all over Africa, and we want to share their stories through student bloggers chosen from all corners of the continent. We will also give more in-depth insight into our curriculum through blogs from our lecturers. From the founders to the students to the lecturers - we are all physicists passionate about science!

Here is a video from the 2012 edition of our school held at the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology in Kumasi, Ghana to give you a preview of what to expect from this upcoming year with the African School of Physics:

No comments:

Post a Comment